Athlete Commission

Athlete’s Commission

The OCM Athletes’ Commission is an elected body which serves as a link between the athletes who have represented Malaysia at Multi-Sports Games and the OCM.
  • To represent the views of the Malaysian athletes and make their voice heard within the OCM.
  • To represent the rights and interests of athletes and advise the OCM on Athlete-related matters.
  • To represent OCM to Athletes’ Commission related programs/activities (when directed).
  • To obtain feedback from athletes on Multi-Sports Games Participation.
  • To engage actively with initiatives and projects that protect and support clean athletes on and off the field of play; and encourage athletes to comply to anti-doping rules and regulations.
  • To serve as a platform for athlete to voice their opinions.
  • To facilitate the establishment of Athletes’ Commission in all NSAs.
  • To maintain contact with the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

Each National Sports Association affiliated to the OCM is eligible to be represented by not more than two (2) athletes, one (1) male and one (1) female, elected by their peers within each NSA, from among active or retired athletes who have participated in any of the Multi-Sports Games under the OCM jurisdiction.

Members of the Athletes Commission then elects the Office Bearer of the Athletes’ Commission once every four (4) years. For the term 2022 – 2025, the Office-Bearers are as follows:

Chairperson: Mdm. Shalin Zulkifli (Bowling)

Deputy Chairperson: Mr. Loh Jack Chang (Wushu)

Secretary: Ms. Mathivani Murugeesan (Karate)

Members (representing Olympic Games Athletes):

  • Nuraisyah Jamil (Sailing)
  • Johnathan Wong Guanjie (Shooting)

Members (representing Asian Games Athletes):

  • Yap Khim Wen (Taekwondo)
  • Safee Sali (Football)
  • Tan Cheong Min (Wushu)

Members (representing Commonwealth Games Athletes):

  • Fairul Izwan Abd Muin (Lawn Bowls)
  • Ernawati (Hockey)
  • Muhammad Hakimi Ismail (Athletics)

Members (representing South-East Asian Games Athletes):

  • Steffi Sarge Kaur (Football)
  • Liyana Kamaruddin (Athletics)
  • Ahmad Syukri Abdul Aziz (Sailing)

For more information on the composition of the Athletes Commission, its Office-Bearers and election process, please click here.