Flame Handover Ceremony for the 30th SEA Games Torch Relay - Olympic Council of Malaysia Olympic Council of Malaysia

Flame Handover Ceremony for the 30th SEA Games Torch Relay

The Flame Handover Ceremony for the 30th SEA Games Torch Relay was successfully organised on Thursday, 3 October 2019, at the National Stadium Bukit Jalil.

The Ceremony was witnessed by the official representatives from both the Governments and the Olympic Committees of Philippine and Malaysia.

The Ceremony began with the 30th SEA Games Theme Song performance by 2 famous Filipino singers, Mr. Anthony Castillo and Ms. Gidget Dela Llana.

Dato’ Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria, President of OCM, in his speech, thanked the Philippines SEA Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) for continuing the SEA Games Torch Relay, which is a symbol of friendship and peace.

“The SEA Games Torch Relay will strengthen the Olympic values of friendship, excellence and respect among the community in Southeast Asia” added Dato’ Sri Mohamad Norza Zakaria.

Mr. Ramon Suzara, the Chief Operating Officer of PHISGOC, in his speech, informed that the PHISGOC, with the great support from the Government of Philippine, the Philippine Olympic Committee and the Philippine Sports Commission, is working very hard to organize the biggest ever SEA Games in history.

Dr. Celia Kiram, a Commissioner at the Philippine Sports Commission, in her remarks mentioned that Malaysia had raised the benchmark of the SEA Games for the Philippine to achieve. She thanked the Government of Malaysia and the Olympic Council of Malaysia for the support to ensure the success of the Flame Handover Ceremony.

The VVIPs who were present to witness the event included Y.B. Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Minister of Youth and Sports), Dr. Waitchalla R.R.V. Suppiah (Secretary General of Ministry of Youth and Sports), Dato’ Ahmad Shapawi Ismail (Director General of National Sports Council), Mr. Ahmad Faedzal Md. Ramli (CEO of National Sports Institute), H.E. Charles Jose (Philippine Ambassador to Malaysia) and Mdm. Cynthia Carrion-Norton (Executive Board Member of Philippine Olympic Committee).

Other Executive Board Members of OCM who present were Dato’ Seri Azim Zabidi (Deputy President), Dato’ Paduka Mumtaz Jaffar (Vice President), Dato’ Mohd Nazifuddin (Secretary General) and Ms. Moira Tan Siew (Assistant Secretary General).

Datuk Marina Chin (Chef de Mission of Malaysian Contingent to the 29th SEA Games Kuala Lumpur 2017), Mdm. Nurul Huda Abdullah (Deputy Chef de Mission of Malaysian Contingent to the 30th SEA Games Philippines 2019) and Mr. Loh Jack Chang (Deputy President of OCM Athletes’ Commission) were also present to support the occasion.

To view the full post on Our Facebook Page, click here.

Partners & Sponsors