The Closing Ceremony of Lausanne 2020 - Olympic Council of Malaysia Olympic Council of Malaysia

The Closing Ceremony of Lausanne 2020

The III Winter Youth Olympic Games Lausanne 2020 has come to the end on Wednesday, 22 January 2020.

The Closing Ceremony of the Games was held from 7.00 pm to 7.45 pm, at the Medals Plaza, Lausanne Flon.

Dione Tan was selected as the Flag Bearer for the Malaysian Contingent while Sean Yeo was chosen by the IOC as 1 of the 5 athletes to be on the stage to give recognition to the volunteers of the Games.

Ms. Virginie Faivre, President of the Organizing Committee of Lausanne 2020, in her speech, thanked everyone for their contribution in making the III Winter Youth Olympic Games Lausanne 2020 a memorable one.

Mr. Thomas Bach, President of IOC, in his concluding speech, congratulated the Organizing Committee, the Government as well as the people in Lausanne for a job well done. In addition, he congratulated all the athletes for their achievements and reminded them that they are the ambassadors of the Olympic Movement.

The President of IOC then presented an IOC Trophy to the City of Lausanne in recognition of its contribution towards the Olympic Movement.

The finale of the Closing Ceremony was the handover of the Olympic Flag to the next host city of the Winter Youth Olympic Games. Mr. Grégoire Junod, Mayor of the City of Lausanne handed back the Olympic Flag to the President of IOC, who then handed the Olympic Flag to Mr. Sungho Kim, Vice Governor of the Gangwon Province, the host city of the next Winter Youth Olympic Games in 2024.

To view the full post on Our Facebook Page, click here.

Partners & Sponsors