OCM Picks Bertrand Rhodict Lises and Nur Shazrin Mohamad Latif as Flagbearers of The Malaysian Contingent For XXXIII Olympic Games Paris 2024 - Olympic Council of Malaysia Olympic Council of Malaysia

OCM Picks Bertrand Rhodict Lises and Nur Shazrin Mohamad Latif as Flagbearers of The Malaysian Contingent For XXXIII Olympic Games Paris 2024

KUALA LUMPUR (1st July 2024): Diver Bertrand Rhodict Lises and sailor Nur Shazrin Mohamad Latif OLY have been given the honour of being Malaysia’s flag-bearers at the XXXIII Olympic Games Paris 2024 from 26th July to 11th August.

Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) president Tan Sri Dato’ Sri (Dr) Mohamad Norza Zakaria said the two athletes represent the make-up of the Malaysian Contingent comprising debutants and seasoned campaigners.

“After studying the shortlisted athletes and having taken various factors, including the competition schedules into consideration, the Executive Board has selected Bertrand and Nur Shazrin to be carrying the Jalur Gemilang during the parade of athletes.

“While Bertrand is picked by virtue of being a debutant, Nur Shazrin is an experienced athlete who will be making her third appearance. In celebrating the future, we embrace the present,” said Tan Sri Norza.

Sarawak-born Bertrand, 19, will be making his debut at the Games after becoming the first Malaysian athlete to qualify on merit to Paris in July 2023.

Bertrand is the fourth Sarawakian to be given the honour after Kuda Ditta OLY (Athletics) in Rome 1960, Bryan Nickson Lomas OLY (Aquatics-Diving) in Athens 2004 and Dato’ Pandelela Rinong OLY (Aquatics – Diving) in London 2012.

Bertrand won a bronze medal in the Men’s Synchronised 10m Platform at the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022 held in 2023.

Johor-born sailor Nur Shazrin is looking forward to her third appearance after Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020. Nur Shazrin who won the gold medal in the dinghy category at the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou, is the first sailor to be handed the honour of carrying the flag during the Opening Ceremony.

The Opening Ceremony is scheduled to be held on the Seine River with boats carrying the athletes for each national delegation. The parade will come to the end of its 6-kilometre route in front of the Trocadéro, where the remaining elements of Olympic protocol and final shows will take place.

As of 1st of July, the Malaysian Contingent will be formed by 25 athletes from eight sports namely Ariana Nur Dania Mohamad Zairi, Syaqiera Mashayikh OLY and Nurul Azreena Mohd Fazil (Archery), Lee Zii Jia OLY, Goh Jin Wei, Aaron Chia Teng Fong OLY-Soh Wooi Yik OLY, Pearly Tan Koong Le-Thinaah Muralitharan, Chen Tang Jie-Toh Ee Wei (Badminton), Nur Aisyah Mohamad Zubir (Cycling – Road), Dato’ Mohd Azizulhasni Awang OLY, Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom OLY and Nurul Izzah Izzati Mohd Asri (Cycling – Track), Bertrand and Nur Dhabitah Sabri (Diving), Gavin Kyle Green OLY (Men’s Golf), Ashley Lau (Women’s Golf), Khairulnizam Mohd Affendy OLY and Nur Shazrin (Sailing), Johnathan Wong Guanjie OLY) (Shooting), Khiew Hoe Yan and Tan Ruoxin (Swimming) and Muhammad Aniq Kasdan (Weightlifting).

The final universality slot is a toss-up between sprinters Muhammad Azeem Fahmi and Shereen Samson Vallabouy to be decided this week.

Partners & Sponsors